MY SPONTANEOUS 1 YEAR ANNIVERSARY OUTFIT ADVENTURE?

HI GUYS!

This is such fun/hilarious memory for me that I want to remember. Yesterday, August 4th, 2015 was my boyfriend & I’s one year anniversary. Since both of us work full time jobs during the summer, we decided the best way for us to celebrate would be to just go out for dinner in the evening. So, I was scheduled to drive to his place at 7:15 PM to go and meet him so we could go to The Cheesecake Factory (YUM).

So, it’s 5:15 PM. I’m already wearing a blue and black dress that I had picked out earlier in the day, with my hair down and straightened, and a pair of simple blue flip-flops. Ya know, it’s casual, but cute and just overall a summery outfit. It’s nothing new or out of this world gorgeous, it’s simple.

I am about to go pick up my Dad and I realize I have about 20 minutes to spare since I am early. My younger sister is in the car with me and we decide that we should go and drive to Old Navy just for fun to walk around and look at things to keep us distracted and have the time pass by. So, that’s when I had this wonderful idea.

I turned to my sister and said, “Let’s see if I can put together a new outfit for my date tonight, we have 14 minutes to spare”. 

Running around this Old Navy, my sister and I grab the first 4 or 5 dresses we see. We pick them up unknowingly if they would even fit, and run to the dressing room. I rush to try on each one to see in the moment, how each one fit.

She would say “Maybe!”, “Ehhh I don’t know”, “NOT THAT ONE” and then finally “YES THAT ONE!”. 

So, we grab this dress we both decide on thats unlike anything else I have ever bought, and we run to the front. We pass by the jewelry section and I say to her, pick me out the first pair of black earrings you find and let’s go. She grabs a pair and we run to the register.

14 minutes later an outfit was put together. 

After dropping my sister and Dad off at home, I grabbed my purse and the things I needed for the evening, did my hair incredibly quick in a simple slick back high straight pony-tail, a pair of black pumps, grabbed my keys and jumped in my car.

I drove to the closest CVS and ran inside to grabbed the first shade of red lipstick I saw.

As you can tell, I was in a bit of a hurry to make it on time, I actually ended being a few minutes late, but I snapped a selfie in my car and another quick picture of my dress in the mirror in the bathroom of the restaurant. (Excuse the flash, it was so dark!)

Best part of this story is that I learned is sometimes it is best to just go with the flow. Go with the spontaneous nature that life has to offer and really embrace it. I challenge you guys to throw together a date outfit literally on your way over to meet your significant other! It was so much fun!

Let me know if you guys have ever done something similar and what your story was!

-Ash

Leave a comment